Main menu

Voice, Memory, Song

Photo of Ian Bostridge
Friday, November 21, 2014 -
9:00am to 7:00pm
Ertegun House, 37A St Giles

A full day symposium with Humanitas Visiting Professor of Classical Music and Music Eduction Ian Bostridge on "Voice, Memory and Song"

Confirmed speakers include: Ian Bostridge, Suzanne Aspden, Mette Louise Berg, Philip Bullock, Zeynep Bulut, Eric Clarke, Simon Frith, Daniel Grimley, Rachel Harris, Elizabeth Eva Leach, Kate Van Orden, Ceri Owen, Tom Perchard, Jason Stanyek, Martin Stokes, Laura Tunbridge, Heather Wiebe

SOLD OUT! We are sorry, tickets for this event have now sold out.

About Ian Bostridge

Ian Bostridge's international recital career has taken him to Salzburg, Edinburgh, Munich, Vienna, Alderburgh and Schwarzenberg Schubertiade Festivals and to the main stages of Carnegie Hall and La Scala, Milan. He has held artistic residencies at 7 major operatic concert halls from 2003-2013.

His recordings have won all the major international record prizes and been nominated for 13 Grammys. Recent recordings include 'Three Baroque Tenors' with the English Concert and Bernard Labadie, and Britten songs with Antonio Pappano for EMI.

He has worked with the Berlin Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, Boston Symphony, London Symphony, London Philharmonic, BBC Symphony, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw, New York Philharmonic and Los Angeles Philharmonic orchestra under Sir Simon Rattle, Sir Colin Davis, Sir Andrew Davis, Seiji Ozawa, Antonio Pappano, Ricardo Muti, Mstislav Rostropovich, Daniel Barenboim, Daniel Harding and Donald Runnicles. He sang the world premiere of Henze's 'Opfergang' with the Accademia Santa Cecilia in Rome under Antonio Pappano.

Ian Bostridge was a fellow in history at Corpus Christi College, Oxford (1992-1995) and in 2001 was elected honorary fellow of the college. In 2003 he was made an Honorary Doctor of Music by the University of St Andrew's and in 2010 he was made an honorary fellow of St John's College, Oxford. He was made CBE in the 2004 New Year's Honours.


Contact name: 
Sarah Bebb
Open to all