Digital Humanities

About
collaboration

Since the 1970s the University has played a major national and international role in the development and use of digital tools, methods and resources for research in the humanities. Today, these activities are undertaken by a wide range of individual scholars, research groups and large-scale projects, which together constitute Digital Humanities at Oxford.

 
Digital Humanities at Oxford comes together annually in the Digital Humanities at Oxford Summer School, which offers training to anyone with an interest in the Digital Humanities, including academics at all career stages, students, project managers, and people who work in IT, libraries, and cultural heritage. With over 200 participants from around the globe, DHOxSS is the largest such event in Europe, and a focal point in the University’s DH calendar.
 
Digital Humanities at Oxford brings together researchers and resources across the breadth of the University. While several major projects and training activities are based in the Humanities Division, the network extends across the collegiate University and includes the Oxford e-Research Centre and the Bodleian Libraries, as well as academic departments in other divisions.  
 
Our programme also benefits from close engagement with the University’s museums, Oxford University Press, Continuing Education, and several colleges with digital humanities initiatives.  IT Services, which has held a key role in the history of digital humanities through the Humanities Computing Unit and Text Encoding Initiative activities, continues to provide support for humanities researchers using digital methods.
 
 
Contacts:

Giles Bergel, Digital Humanities Ambassador

Visual Geometry Group, Department of Engineering Science

giles.bergel@eng.ox.ac.uk

 

Nicholas Cole, Director of the Quill Project; Senior Research Fellow, Pembroke College; Turing Institute Humanities and Data Science Group

Pembroke College; History Faculty

nicholas.cole@pmb.ox.ac.uk

 

David De Roure, Director of TORCH DH Programme; Director DHOxSS

Oxford e-Research Centre (Engineering Science) and Turing Institute

david.deroure@oerc.ox.ac.uk

 

Frank Egerton, Operations Manager, Humanities Libraries; Tutor, Creative Writing

Bodleian Libraries; Continuing Education / Kellogg College

frank.egerton@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

 

Kevin Page, Senior Researcher, OeRC (Engineering Science)

Digital Musicology, Linked Data for Digital Humanities.

kevin.page@oerc.ox.ac.uk

 

Meriel Patrick, Academic Research Technology Specialist

IT Services

meriel.patrick@it.ox.ac.uk

 

Jonathan Prag, Professor of Ancient History; TEI corpus editor; Humanities representative on University IT Committee

Faculty of Classics

jonathan.prag@merton.ox.ac.uk      

 

Ylva Berglund Prytz, Research technology support

IT Services

ylva.berglund@it.ox.ac.uk

 

John Pybus, Lead Research Software Engineer for Humanities Projects

Oxford e-Research Centre (Engineering Science) and Phonetics

john.pybus@oerc.ox.ac.uk

 

John Southall, Bodleian Data Librarian

Bodleian Libraries

john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

 

Tara Stubbs, Associate Professor in English Literature and Creative Writing; Digital Humanities course development

OUDCE / Kellogg College

tara.stubbs@conted.ox.ac.uk

 

Rowan Wilson, Research Technology Service Manager

IT Services

rowan.wilson@it.ox.ac.uk

 

Martin Wynne, Digital Research Specialist

Electronic Enlightenment, Bodleian Libraries

martin.wynne@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Visit the website at http://digital.humanities.ox.ac.uk/.

 

 

Events
Past Events
Opportunities
List of site pages